NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
Disability Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE) Program Information for Tenants

On July 1, 2014 the household income to qualify for DRIE increased to $50,000. For more information read the DRIE Income Increase Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).
 

Tenants that qualify for the Disability Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE) Program can have their rent frozen at their current level and be exempt from future rent increases. For more information you can download "Your Guide to the Senior Citizen Rent Increase Exemption (SCRIE) and Disability Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE) Programs".

Requirements
 

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Rent an apartment that is:
    • Regulated by the Division of Housing and Community Renewal (DHCR) (i.e. Rent stabilized units, Rent controlled units, Rent regulated hotel units);
    • Owned by a Mitchell-Lama development, Limited Dividend housing company, Redevelopment company or Housing Development Fund Corporation (HDFC) incorporated under New York State’s Private Housing Finance Law;
    • Located in a building where the mortgage was federally insured under Section 213 of the National Housing Act. 
       
  • Be named on the lease or rent order or have been granted succession rights to the apartment;
  • Have a total annual household income of $50,000 or less;
  • Spend more than one-third of your monthly household income on rent; and
  • Receive Federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Federal Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs disability pension or compensation, or Disability-related Medicaid if the applicant has received either SSI or SSDI in the past.

How to Apply
Mail your completed Disability Rent Increase Exemption initial application and include all required documents. You may also apply online via AccessNYC. After you apply online you must mail all required documents.

Renewal
Your benefit must be renewed before your lease ends. To continue getting your DRIE benefit, mail your completed Disability Rent Increase Exemption renewal application and include all required documents before the "End Date" stated on your Approval Order. We will mail you a renewal application approximately 60 days before your DRIE benefit expires. However, if for any reason you do not receive the renewal application, you must still submit a renewal application or your benefit will expire. For more information, please go to the SCRIE/DRIE Brochure for Tenants/Landlords.

Forms and Reports



Need Help?

  • Visit the SCRIE/DRIE walk-in office from 8:30am - 4:30pm at:
    66 John Street, 3rd Floor
    New York, NY 10038
    Wheelchair Accessible Wheelchair accessible
     
  • Contact 311