Email a Friend
NYC Department of Housing Preservation & Development
Homeowners

Smoke Detectors and Carbon Monoxide Detectors

New York City requires the installation and maintenance of smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors. Both landlords and tenants have responsibilities to ensure that all New Yorkers remain safe in their homes from the dangers of fire and carbon monoxide poisoning.  Residential owners are required to ensure that tenants are provided with both carbon monoxide and smoke detectors. Below are summary charts of the requirements for both devices based on the class of the property.

Landlords of Class A Multiple Dwellings

 

CO

SD

Provide and install at least one approved and operational detecting device within each dwelling unit.

Y

Y

Post a notice in a common area informing occupants of the law’s requirements.

Y

Y

Replace any detector which has been stolen, removed, missing or rendered inoperable before new tenant moves in if prior tenant has not replaced it.

Y

Y

Replace any detector in 30 days if it becomes inoperable within one year of installation due to a defect and no fault of the occupant.

Y

Y

Keep all records relating to the installation and maintenance of detector and provide to HPD, DOB, DOHMH and FDNY if requested.

Y

Y

File a Certificate of Satisfactory Installation with HPD.

Y

Y

Install detector(s) within 15 feet of the primary entrance to each sleeping room.

Y

Y

Insure that each detector is equipped with an end-of-life alarm.

Y

N

Provide written information regarding the testing and maintenance of detectors, including general information concerning carbon monoxide poisoning and what to do if an alarm goes off, to at least one adult occupant of each dwelling unit when the unit is installed.

Y

N

Never paint over detectors.

Y

Y

 

 

 

Landlords of One- & Two-Family Homes

 

CO

SD

Provide and install at least one detector within each dwelling unit.

Y

Y

Install detectors(s) within 15 feet of the primary entrance to each sleeping room.

Y

Y

Insure that the detector is equipped with an end-of-life alarm.

Y

N

File a Certificate of Satisfactory Installation with HPD.

Y

N

Provide a notice, in a form approved by HPD, informing occupants of carbon monoxide detector requirements.

Y

N

Provide written information regarding the testing and maintenance of detectors, including general information concerning carbon monoxide poisoning and what to do if an alarm goes off, to at least one adult occupant of each dwelling unit when the unit is installed.

Y

N

Keep all records relating to the installation and maintenance of detector and provide to HPD, DOB, DOHMH and FDNY if requested.

Y

N

Never paint over detectors.

Y

Y

 

 

 

Landlords of Class B Multiple Dwellings

 

CO

SD

Provide and install at least one approved and operational detector within each unit or provide and install a hard wired zoned smoke detector system throughout the multiple dwelling in accordance with rules and regulations promulgated by DOB.

Y

Y

Replace any detector which has been stolen, removed, missing or rendered inoperable before new tenant moves in if prior tenant has not replaced it.

Y

Y

Keep all records relating to the installation and maintenance of detector and provide to HPD, DOB, DOHMH and FDNY if requested.

Y

Y

File a Certificate of Satisfactory Installation with HPD.

Y

Y

Keep and maintain detector in good repair.

Y

Y

Install detectors within 15 feet of the primary entrance to each sleeping room.

Y

N

Insure that the detector is equipped with an end-of-life alarm.

Y

N

Provide written information regarding the testing and maintenance of detectors, including general information concerning carbon monoxide poisoning and what to do if an alarm goes off, to at least one adult occupant of each dwelling unit when the unit is installed.

Y

N

Never paint over detectors.

Y

Y

 

 

 

Tenants of Class A Multiple Dwellings and

One- & Two-Family Homes

 

CO

SD

Keep and maintain detector in good repair.

Y

Y

Replace a detector which has been stolen, removed, missing or rendered inoperable during occupancy.

Y

Y

Reimburse the owner a maximum of $10 for the cost of providing and installing each detector; the occupant shall have one year from the date of installation to make such payment.

N

Y

Reimburse the building owner $25 for each detector that is newly installed or installed as a result of the occupant's failure to maintain the detector or where the detector has been lost or damaged by the occupant.

Y

N

Test all detectors at least once a month.

Y

N

Replace batteries twice a year, in the spring and in the fall when clocks are changed for daylight savings time.

Y

Y

Immediately replace the batteries if the low battery warning sounds.

Y

Y

Never paint over detectors.

Y

Y

*Some of the above requirements are found in the NYC Housing Maintenance Code and some are found in the NYC Building Code.

Replacement by:.

  • Carbon monoxide detectors:  The  law requires the replacement of all existing detectors, as their useful life expires, or by October 2012, whichever is later. Approved CO detectors must comply with UL 2034 of Underwriters Laboratories. For existing buildings, a CO detector can be battery-operated, or can plug into an electrical outlet as long as it has a battery back-up in case of power interruption. New buildings or substantially improved buildings must have detectors that are hard-wired to the building's electrical systems. The installation of a combination smoke alarm/CO detector is allowed.
  • Smoke Detectors:

 Filing requirements

Filing is required when devices are changed according to the requirement timeframes or whenever broken/missing devices are replaced.  You can file either by using HPDONLINE or by printing and properly completing (including a signature) the below forms.  You must be validly registered with HPD in order to file this Certificate online or using the forms (forms will be rejected if you are not registered ). In buildings with cooperative units, the managing agent for the cooperative owners of the building should be filing the form for all units in the building. In buildings with condominium units, the Board of Managers must file a form for the entire building

  • File online You can file Carbon Monoxide information online or complete and submit the Form CO1 as directed. When you enter the HPDOnline application, type in your building address. On the next screen, look for the left menu bar and click on the option Carbon Monoxide Certificate. Then proceed to complete the online Carbon Monoxide Detector Certificate of Installation.
  • Certificate of Installation – Carbon Monoxide Detectors
  • Certificate of Installation – Smoke Detectors
  • Certificate of Installation – Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Detectors (This should be used when you are replacing both devices at one time with a single combined device.)
  •  Notice requirements:

    • Carbon Monoxide:
      • Required to be posted for Class A multiple dwellings (apartment buildings with 3 or more units)
      • Required to be distributed for 1-2 family tenant occupied units.
    • Smoke Detector :
      • Required to be posted for Class A multiple dwellings (apartment buildings with 3 or more units)

    Carbon Monoxide Exemption: Some units in buildings without fossil fuel burning furnaces or boilers may be exempt from filing a Certificate of Satisfactory Installation. You should review the Department of Buildings regulations on www.nyc.gov/buildings for more information on exemption. You must file an Affidavit of Exemption with HPD to request an exemption. If you are filing for a partial exemption, you have the option to modify the notice that should be posted in the building (see bullet 2 above). You should submit the modified posting that you wish to use with your exemption application for approval by the Department. 

    For the answers to some other Frequently Asked Questions about Carbon Monoxide, read HPD’s full FAQ on Carbon Monoxide.

     


     Carbon Monoxide Law and Rules

     Smoke Detector Law and Rules




    View Site Map