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If you are a single parent - divorced, separated or never
married - you know how difficult it can be to raise a child
alone in New York City - especially if the other parent isn’t
helping to pay the bills. But under the law, that parent
must provide child support and we can help you get it.

WHO WE ARE

The Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE), a program
of the NYC Human Resources Administration, helps custodial 
parents (parents living with and caring for their children) obtain
the financial support that their children deserve, from non-
custodial parents (parents not living with their children). OCSE
can help you get a fair child support order and receive payments
regularly. In fact, every year we collect over half a billion dollars
in child support payments for New York City’s children.

WHO CAN APPLY FOR CHILD SUPPORT

We can help any custodial
parent living in New York
City, regardless of income
or immigration status and
there are no fees for our
services. Public assistance
clients are automatically
referred for child support
services. If you are not
applying for or receiving
public assistance, you
may apply for child sup-
port services by visiting the OCSE office in the family court in
your borough. If you are a single parent applying for or receiving
child care services through the Administration for Children’s
Services (ACS), Agency for Child Development (ACD), you may
be required to show proof that you have or are pursuing a child
support order. 

WHY IT IS IMPORTANT TO APPLY FOR CHILD SUPPORT

Applying for child support will help ensure your child’s financial
future. You should be aware that some cases take more time and
work than others to successfully collect child support. So, don’t



be discouraged if you don’t get
regular child support payments
right away. Even if you think it’s
not worth going to court for child
support because the other parent
isn’t working and can’t afford to
pay, you should still get a child
support order now. If the non-
custodial parent is unemployed or
has a low paying job, we may be
able to help. OCSE works with
community-based organizations
that help non-custodial parents
get education, job training and
job placement services through 
a program called STEP (Support
Through Employment Program).
The goal of STEP is to help 
parents get work with a steady income so that they can help
support their children. Non-custodial parents who may benefit
from the STEP program will be referred for services by OCSE or
family court.  Once the non-custodial parent starts earning
money, we can automatically collect child support payments 
from his or her paycheck.

It is important for OCSE to have your case information in our
computer so that we can search 24 hours/7 days a week to
find a way to collect child support for your children.

WHAT WE CAN DO FOR YOU

If you are a custodial parent, we can help you: 

✦ FIND the non-custodial parent by using computer 
searches, if you don’t know where he or she lives. We can
even locate missing parents who live or work in other states.

✦ ESTABLISH paternity (legal fatherhood), if necessary. If
you are not married to the other parent, you should give
your child the advantage of a legal father by establishing
paternity. Establishing paternity gives your child benefits that
may include social security, military allowance, pension,
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health insurance, and the right to inherit from the father. In
addition, paternity must be established before a child 
support order can be issued. If both parents agree, they can
sign a Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity form in the
hospital when the baby is born. The form can also be signed
after the baby has left the hospital. Parents can contact
OCSE any time before the child reaches age 21 to establish
paternity using the voluntary process. If there is a question
about the identity of the father, you may request a DNA test
once the baby is born. OCSE will refer you to a state 
certified laboratory for low cost paternity testing. Both 
parents and the child must provide DNA samples. If paternity
cannot be established through the voluntary process, either
parent can file for a paternity hearing in family court. 

✦ SERVE a summons on the non-custodial parent. Once you
file a petition for a child support hearing in family court, the
other parent must be notified by summons of the date and
time of the hearing and the requirement to show up. OCSE
may provide summons service, if your case is eligible. If you
prefer, you may ask someone to serve the summons for you.
You may not serve the summons yourself. 

✦ GET a child support order from the family court serving
you. You will be expected to be present at the child support
hearing, along with the non-custodial parent.  You do not
need a lawyer in family court, but you may hire one if you
wish. The child support order will state the amount and 
frequency of the child support payments. The child support
order must include medical support, which means medical
insurance coverage and other medical expenses for the child.
The child support order may also include child care and 
education expenses.
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✦ COLLECT child support payments from the non-custodial
parent. Once a support order is established in New York
State, the non-custodial parent must pay child support
until the child reaches age 21 or becomes self-supporting.

We will collect the non-custodial parent’s payments on a 
regular basis, usually through payroll deductions, and 
forward them to you. You can have your child support 
payments sent to you by check, or electronically by direct
deposit to your bank, or through the New York State
EPPICard Debit MasterCard program. If payments fall behind,
we will increase the amount of regular collections to reduce
the amount owed. If you move, it is important to notify
OCSE of your new address so that we can continue to send
your child support payments to you, without delay.

If you already have a private child support order, where the
non-custodial parent pays you directly, OCSE cannot help you
collect and enforce payments unless you request a ‘Change of
Payee’. Requesting a ‘Change of Payee’ means that child 
support payments will be sent to OCSE for processing, record
keeping, distribution and enforcement. A ‘Change of Payee’
can be done on any child support order issued by New York
State Family Court or Supreme Court, without going back to
court for a hearing.You can get more information about the
‘Change of Payee’ process from the child support office in your
family court.
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✦ ENFORCE the child support order by taking action against
a parent who is not paying what is owed. 

The following enforcement actions are administrative.
They do not require a court hearing. 

- Seizing money from bank accounts, income tax refunds, 
lottery winnings and insurance settlements

- Suspending driver’s licenses

- Reporting unpaid child support to credit reporting agencies

- Referring cases to the New York State Department of 
Taxation and Finance for collection

- Denying new and renewed passports

- Denying new and renewed New York City business and 
professional licenses

The following enforcement actions require a court hearing,
which you may be required to attend.

- Filing a violation petition that may result in a money judgment 
with interest added on

- Participating in a work program if the non-custodial parent 
is unable to pay child support because of unemployment 
or low paying work

- Suspending professional, business and occupational licenses

- Referring cases for criminal prosecution
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✦ INCREASE the amount to be paid on child support orders
that are eligible for a cost of living adjustment (COLA),
without going back to court. The COLA is based on yearly
changes in the consumer price index for urban areas
(CPIU), which tracks the prices of items like food, clothing
and housing. Clients are notified by mail when their cases
are eligible for a COLA. A child support order can also be
increased by filing a petition for a modification in family
court, if there is a change in circumstances.

WHAT HAPPENS IN COURT

The child support hearing is held
before a Support Magistrate in
family court.  Both parents are
expected to attend the hearing
and present proof of their
income and expenses. The
Support Magistrate will listen to
both parents and calculate how
much support the non-custodial
parent must pay to the parent
with custody, and set a schedule
for regular payments. 

If you are not receiving public
assistance, you will be asked
whether you want the support to
be paid directly to you or
through OCSE’s Support Collection Unit. If you choose to have
the non-custodial parent pay you directly, OCSE cannot help you
enforce the order if payments fall behind. If you disagree with
the support order, you have 30 days from the date  the order
was made to file a written objection with the Court Clerk’s
office. A judge will review the case file and make a decision.

If the non-custodial parent has been served with a summons
and does not show up at the hearing, the Support Magistrate
may adjourn the hearing to another date. The Support
Magistrate also has the option of establishing a ‘default’ 
order without having all of the non-custodial parent’s 
financial information. 
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Bronx Borough Office  
serving the Bronx

260 East 161st Street, 1st floor
Bronx, NY 10451
(718) 664-1845 

Brooklyn Borough Office
serving Brooklyn and the Rockaways  

481 Hudson Avenue
(10 Metrotech), 1st floor 

Brooklyn, NY  11201
(718) 330-2119

Manhattan Borough Office
serving Manhattan/Staten Island
115 Chrystie Street, 3rd floor
New York, NY 10002 
(212) 334-7654

Queens Borough Office
serving Queens (except the
Rockaways)
32-20 Northern Boulevard, 5th floor
Long Island City, NY  11101
(718) 784-6979   

WHERE TO GO TO APPLY FOR CHILD SUPPORT

If you are applying for or receiving public assistance, you will
be referred to OCSE automatically and do not need to apply for
child support services on your own. If you have more 
information about the non-custodial parent any time after your
appointment, call the OCSE Borough Office where your child
support interview was held.

If the non-custodial parent needs a job or needs help finding a better job,
OCSE can help. Ask your child support worker about STEP (Support Through

Employment Program) or call (212) 487-5837 for more information.
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Bronx
Bronx County Family Court

900 Sheridan Avenue, 1st Floor  
Bronx, NY  10451

(718) 590-3924/3432

Brooklyn
Kings County Family Court
330 Jay Street, 12th floor

Brooklyn, NY  11201
(718) 246-7962/68

Queens
Queens County Family Court
151-20 Jamaica Avenue, 1st floor
Jamaica, NY  11432
(718) 725-3148/49

Staten Island
Richmond County Family Court
100 Richmond Terrace, Room #B-5
Staten Island, NY  10301
(718) 720-2495

Manhattan
New York County Family Court 
60 Lafayette Street, 1st floor

New York, NY  10013
(212) 385-8218/19 

If you are not applying for and not receiving public
assistance and want to apply for child support services,
visit the OCSE Office in the family court in your borough.
Some offices have evening hours. Call first to be sure.

New York State Division of Child Support Enforcement
Customer Services Helpline (888) 208-4485
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR PARENTS APPLYING
FOR OR  RECEIVING PUBLIC ASSISTANCE

If you are applying for public assistance or need to have a 
newborn child added to your case, you will be referred to the
Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) for an interview.

Cooperating with the OCSE worker and providing the information
and documentation requested is required in order to receive 
public assistance. It is also the best way to ensure that your
child receives financial support from the non-custodial parent
now, and in the future. OCSE’s job
is to make sure that non-custodial
parents (parents not living with
their children) support their 
children. That’s important because
the Federal Government has put a
limit on how long you can receive
federally funded cash benefits.
Once you leave public assistance,
child support payments will help
you support your family. In New
York State, the non-custodial 
parent must pay child support
until the child reaches age 21 or
becomes self-supporting.

The Child Support Interview

When you go for your child support interview, bring the 
appointment notice and the ‘Intake for Child Support Services’
form (formerly called ‘Absent Parent Questionnaire’) that you
were given when you applied for public assistance. In addition,
you will be expected to bring information about the non-custodial
parent. The most important information is listed below and other
helpful documents are listed on page 13 of this brochure. 

Remember – The most important things to bring are:

✦ The non-custodial parent’s name and a document showing
his/her social security number

✦ Birth certificates of all children you have with the
non-custodial parent
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If possible, bring the non-custodial parent with you to the child
support office with proof of social security number, address and
employment information.

What Happens If You Do Not Cooperate With The
Child Support Program

If you do not cooperate fully with OCSE, your public assistance
benefits may be denied or you may be sanctioned. If you are
sanctioned, it means that your cash benefits may be reduced by
25% or you may lose Medicaid for yourself. The sanction will
remain in effect until you provide the specific information
requested. Once you bring in
the information needed for your
case, the sanction will be lifted.
If you do not want to cooperate
with child support because you
fear the non-custodial parent
will retaliate with physical or
emotional harm, let the worker
know. You will be referred to a
domestic violence liaison who
will decide if you should be
excused from some or all of the
requirements to cooperate with
the child support  program.

Going To Court

Once your case is referred for a child support order, you will be
expected to appear at a hearing in family court. The child 
support worker will give you information on where and when to
appear. There will be a lawyer at the hearing to represent the
Department of Social Services (DSS). That’s because DSS files
for child support on behalf of children who are on public 
assistance. But, you should still be prepared to answer some
questions.

How Much Child Support You Will Get

In court, the Support Magistrate will decide how much money
the non-custodial parent has to pay, based on standards set by
New York State. Custodial parents  receiving public assistance
can get up to $50 per month of the current child support collect-
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ed for that month.  This is called a bonus or pass-through pay-
ment. Anything collected over $50 is used to pay back the
Department of Social Services (DSS) for your family’s cash bene-
fits. When you are receiving public assistance, any child support
payments you receive directly from the non-custodial parent
must be turned over to DSS.

What Happens When Your Public Assistance Case Closes 

Once you are no longer receiv-
ing public assistance, all of the
money we collect from the non-
custodial parent for current
child support will be processed
and  forwarded to you. In some
cases, OCSE will still have the
right to keep past due support
owed from the time when your
child was receiving public 
assistance. We will continue to
make sure that payments are
made regularly, and on time at
no cost to you. If you did not
have a child support order while
you were receiving public 
assistance, but now have new
information that will help us locate the other parent, contact the
OCSE office located in the family court in your borough.

Getting Child Support Without Public Assistance 

If you decide not to complete the application process for public 
assistance or your application for public assistance is denied, you
can still get a child support order. To apply for child support 
services, visit the OCSE office located in the family court in the
borough where you live.  

Child support payments added to a job 
can help you become financially independent 

and support your family.
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WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THE CHILD SUPPORT ORDER
In order to make child support orders in New York State fair and
consistent, the Child Support Standards Act sets the basic child
support award at a fixed percentage of parental income. Unless
there are documented reasons not to, the Support Magistrate
must use these percentage guidelines in deciding how much child
support the non-custodial parent has to pay. Using these 
guidelines ensures that children benefit from the same standard
of living they would have if their parents were living together.
Determining the amount of the order: Under the law, the
basic support amount that the non–custodial parent has to pay is
a fixed percentage of income and depends on how many children
are involved.

1   child 17%
2   children 25%
3   children 29%
4   children 31%
5   or more at least 35%

This percentage is used for earnings up to $80,000 (minus 
certain local and social security taxes). This includes wages,
worker’s compensation, disability payments, unemployment 
benefits, social security payments, and many other forms of
income. For income above $80,000, the Support Magistrate can
choose whether or not to use the percentage guidelines, and
may consider other information in setting the full support
amount. The child support order must also include medical 
support, which consists of health insurance and other medical
expenses for the child. Either parent may be required to enroll
the child in a health insurance plan, if it is available through 
work at a reasonable cost.  In addition, the child support order
may include reasonable education and child care expenses. 
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WHAT INFORMATION AND DOCUMENTS YOU WILL NEED

When you go to the child support office, you should bring
documents that will help locate the non-custodial parent.
You will also need information and documentation that
proves your relationship and your child’s relationship to
the non-custodial parent.  

✓  A document showing the non-custodial parent’s social 
security number is the most important piece of information
you can provide. It allows OCSE to trace the parent’s
address and employer.

✓  Birth Certificate for each child to be listed on the petition

✓ Marriage certificate, divorce decree, or separation papers, 
if applicable

✓ Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity or Order of Filiation 
from family court, if applicable 

✓ Non-custodial parent’s address, phone number and employer

If you don’t know the address or social security number
of the non-custodial parent, the following 
information will help us identify and locate him or her:

✓ Date and place of birth

✓ His or her parents’ names (including the mother’s 
maiden name)

✓ Recent photograph

When you go to family court for your child support hearing,
bring the information that proves your relationship and your
child’s relationship to the non-custodial parent plus the 
following financial information.

✓ Completed financial disclosure form showing earnings 
and expenses

✓ Income and assets such as pay stubs, tax returns, bank
accounts and other investments and property holdings

✓ Proof of household expenses such as rent and food

✓ Proof of medical, child care, and education costs 
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New York State Child Support
Information Line*
For automated information about
child support services and account
information on existing cases
(7 days/24 hours) (800) 846-0773

The New York State Child Support
Customer Services Help Line 
To speak with a representative about
your case 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
Monday – Friday     (888) 208-4485
TTY (Hearing Impaired) (866) 875-9975

New York City 
Office of Child Support Enforcement

PO Box 830
Canal Street Station

New York, New York 10013

New York City Office of Child Support
Enforcement/Customer Services Office
For child support case related issues
151 West Broadway, 4th floor
New York, NY  10013
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
no appointment necessary

Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
by appointment only
To schedule a Saturday appointment ,
call Monday - Friday
(212) 274-6482 or (212) 274-4920

New York State (DCSE)
Division of Child Support Enforcement 
newyorkchildsupport.com
New York City (OCSE)
Office of Child Support Enforcement
nyc.gov/hra

Call

Write Websites

Visit

GETTING ASSISTANCE WITH CHILD SUPPORT
You can get general information about the child support
program and receive assistance with your child support
case, including change of address. Or, you may have 
additional information that will help us collect child 
support for your family. 

* You will need the PIN number that you were assigned for your 
account, and your social security number. If you do not remember 
your PIN, send a signed request that contains your name, account 
number, social security number, and address to:

NYS DCSE 
40 North Pearl Street - Attn: PIN 

Albany, NY 12243
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