What should | do if | am unable
to appear for the hearing?

You can request to reschedule your hearing if
you call at least five business days before the
scheduled hearing date. Please call OATH at
1-844-OATH-NYC (1-844-628-4692).

You can also submit a reschedule request
online. Visit www.nyc.gov/oath to find the
online form.

If it is fewer than 5 business days before the
scheduled hearing date, you must appear
before a hearing officer at the scheduled
hearing and ask the hearing officer for an
adjournment. The adjournment will only be
granted if the hearing officer determines that
you have a good reason.

What should | do if | missed
the hearing date?

If you did not appear on the hearing date, you
may have been found guilty by default. If you
were found guilty, you have two (2) options:

* Pay the fine; or
* Request a new hearing by filing a Motion
to Vacate the Default.

Visit www.nyc.gov/oath for forms and
instructions on how to apply for a new
hearing after a default.

Long Island City
31-00 47" Avenue, 3rd Floor
Long Island City, NY 11101

8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

Manhattan
66 John Street 11™ Floor
New York, NY 10038

8:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

Staten Island
350 St. Marks Place, Main Floor
Staten Island, NY 10302

8:30 AM to 3:30 PM

Tuesday, Thursday & Friday excluding holidays.

1-844-OATH-NYC
(1-844-628-4692)

www.nyc.gov/oath
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What are OATH
Taxi & Vehicle for Hire Hearings?

The NYC Office of Administrative Trials

and Hearings (OATH) is the city’s central,
independent administrative law court. Among
other types of hearings, OATH is responsible
for holding hearings on summonses issued
by the NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission
(TLC), NYPD and Port Authority for alleged
violations of TLC rules and regulations. OATH
hearing officers are independent decision-
makers who will hear and decide your case.

Your License

OATH is separate from the TLC. The TLC is
the agency responsible for enforcing rules and
issuing licenses. For questions about your
license, please contact the TLC.

Why did | get a Summons?

OATH is an independent administrative law
court. OATH does not issue summonses.
If you need more information about your
summons call the TLC.



What can | do if | get
a summons?

Plead Guilty & Pay the Fine

»  If a specific fine is designated on the front of the
summons, check the “guilty” box on the back of
the ticket, follow the instructions and mail it to
the TLC with your payment within 14 days after
receiving the summons.

*  You may also pay in person at TLC locations.

»  OATH does not accept or process payments
related to TLC summonses.

» If your summons indicates “personal appearance

required” you may not plead guilty by mail and
you must come to the OATH hearing office listed
on your summons.

Appear for a Hearing in Person

e Come to the location on the date and time listed
on the summons.

Meera Joshi - Commissioner

Raymond C. Scanlon - Deputy Commissioner

Uniformed Services Bureau

24-55 BQE West

. . s Woodside, New York 11377
Taxi & Limousine (718) 391-5501 tel

Commission

NAME Date: 10/21/2015
ADDRESS TLC License No. XXXXXXX
CITY STATE ZIP

SUMMONS # CDOOXXXXX

The NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission charges you with a violation of TLC Rule:

§ 54-27(a)(1): Critical Driver’s Program
Penalty: 30 day suspension.

According to the attached driving record from the Department of Motor Vehicles, starting on 6/3/2015 and going back
fifteen (15) months, you accumulated at least six (6) points against your license issued by the DMV, including credit for
any accident prevention courses.

***You May Be Able to Reduce Your Points by Taking a Course***
TLC has checked to see if you have completed a Defensive Driving Course within fifteen months of your convictions.
If you completed a course, the Commission has already reduced your total number of points by up to three.

If you have not yet completed a course, you may do so prior to the adjudication of the Critical Driver summons and
the Commission may deduct up to three points from your total. You MUST still come to the hearing and show
the proof of the course to the prosecutor.

Send proof of your completed course to: VisionZero@tlc.nyc.gov

You Must Appear for a Hearing:
Where: OATH Taxi and Limousine Tribunal 31-00 47" Avenue, 3 Floor, Long Island City, NY 11101
When: 12/23/2015 at 8:30 AM

» Please bring photo identification and a copy
of your summons.

What should | expect if | choose
to come to a hearing?

You do not need an attorney. You can represent
yourself. However, you may hire an attorney or you
may authorize a representative to represent you.

A hearing officer conducts a hearing.

The hearing will take place in a hearing room
before the OATH hearing officer. The hearing
officer has the authority to decide whether or not
you are guilty of the charge.

*  You may bring witnesses to testify for you.
You may also bring any papers that you want
the hearing officer to consider.

»  After the hearing, you will be directed to the
waiting room where you will receive the
hearing officer’s decision.

» If you prefer not to wait, tell an OATH Clerk and
OATH can mail the decision to you.

Interpretation services are provided free of charge,
in over 150 languages or you may bring a

translator if you prefer. Some of the languages
OATH can provide interpretation for are listed below:
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Points

TLC licensees are assessed points when found in
violation of certain TLC Rules.The hearing officer
must assess points when required by law.

+ Points are added to a licensee’s record using
the date of the violation, not the hearing date.

*  Accumulation of 6 or more points during a 15
month period may result in the suspension of
your license by TLC.

*  Accumulation of 10 or more points during a 15
month period may result in the revocation of
your license by TLC.

What should | do if | disagree with
the hearing officer’s decision?

*  You can file an appeal within 30 days of the
decision date.

* You do not have to pay the fine until a decision
on the appeal is made.

*  Appeals may be submitted using the OATH
Appeal Form. The Appeal Form is available at
OATH locations and also on the OATH website
in the Taxi & Vehicle for Hire Hearings section.

OATH OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE TRIALS AND HEARINGS ~ fearngspiison
mE—m Hearings Division Long Island City, NY 11101

APPEAL FORM
Use this form only if you want to appeal the decision from your hearing.

For more information about appeals visit the
OATH web site at www.nyc.gov/oath



