What should | do if | am unable
to appear for the hearing?

You can request to reschedule your hearing
if you call at least five business days before
the scheduled hearing date. Please call the
Tribunal at 1-844-628-4692.

You can also send the Tribunal a reschedule
request online. Visit www.nyc.gov/oath to find
the online form.

If it is fewer than 5 business days before the
scheduled hearing date, you must appear
before a hearing officer at the Tribunal and
ask the hearing officer for an adjournment.
The adjournment will only be granted if the
hearing officer determines that you have a
good reason.

What should | do if | missed
the hearing date?

If you did not appear on the hearing date, you
may have been found guilty by default. If you
were found guilty, you have two (2) options:

* Pay the fine; or
* Request a new hearing by filing a Motion
to Vacate the Default.

Long Island City
32-02 Queens Blvd. 3rd Floor
Long Island City, NY 11101

8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

Manhattan
66 John Street 11™ Floor
New York, NY 10038

8:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

JFK Airport
JFK Hearing Office
Building #14
Jamaica, NY 11430

7:30 AM to 3:15 PM
Monday, Tuesday & Thursday excluding holidays.

Staten Island
350 St. Marks Place, Main Floor
Staten Island, NY 10302

8:30 AM to 3:30 PM
Tuesday, Thursday & Friday excluding holidays.

1-844-OATH-NYC
(1-844-628-4692)
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OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal

A Division of the Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings

What is the OATH
Taxi & Limousine Tribunal?

The OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal is a
division of the NYC Office of Administrative
Trials and Hearings (OATH). This court
holds hearings for summonses issued by
the NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission
(TLC). OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal
hearing officers are independent decision-
makers who will hear your case.

Your License

OATH is separate from the TLC. The TLC is
the agency responsible for enforcing rules and
issuing licenses. For questions about your
license, please contact the TLC.

Why did | get a Summons?

The OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal does
not issue summonses. If you need more
information about your summons call the TLC.



What can | do if | get
a summons?

Plead Guilty & Pay the Fine

If a specific fine is designated on the front of the

ticket, check the “guilty” box on the back of the ticket,
follow the instructions and mail it with your payment

within 14 days after receiving the summons.

You may also pay in person at the Long Island City,

Lower Manhattan or JFK location. Pay by cash,
money order, credit cards, or debit card. The JFK
Tribunal will not accept credit or debit cards.

You may pay the fine online at www1.nyc.gov/lars/

If your summons indicates “personal appearance
required” you may not plead guilty by mail and
you must come to the Tribunal.

Appear for a Hearing in Person

Come to the location on the date and time listed
on the summons.

Taxi & Limousine
Commission

+1212 227 6324 tel

License # xxxxxx Summons # PVXXXXXX Issued: 10/28/2011

RESPONDENT'S NAME
RESPONDENT’S ADDRESS
RESPONDENT'S CITY STATE ZIP

You Must Appear for a Hearing: *

Where: OATH Taxi and Limousine Tribunal, 3rd Fl, 32-02 Queens Bivd, Long Island City, New York 11107
When: 12/12/2011 at 11:00 AM

Please bring photo identification and a copy
of your summons.

What should | expect if | choose

to come to a hearing?

You do not need an attorney. You can represent

yourself. However, you may hire an attorney or you

may authorize a representative, if you choose.

A hearing officer conducts a hearing.

* The hearing will take place in a hearing room
before the OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal
hearing officer. The hearing officer has the

authority to decide whether or not you are guilty

of the charge.

*  You may bring witnesses to testify for you.
You may also bring any papers that you want
the hearing officer to consider.

»  After the hearing, you will be directed to the
waiting room where you will receive the
hearing officer’s decision.

» If you prefer not to wait, the Decision will be

mailed to you.

Interpretation services are provided free of charge,

in over 150 languages, or you may bring a

translator if you prefer. Some of the languages are:
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Points

The hearing officer must assess points when
required by law. TLC licensees are assessed points
when found in violation of certain TLC Rules.

* Points are added to a licensee’s record using
the date of the violation, not the hearing date.

*  Accumulation of 6 or more points during a 15
month period may result in the suspension of
your license by TLC.

*  Accumulation of 10 or more points during a 15
month period may result in revocation of your
license by TLC.

What should | do if | disagree with
the hearing officer’s decision?

*  You can file an appeal within 30 days of the
decision date.

*  You do not have to pay the fine until a decision
on the appeal is made.

*  Appeals may be submitted using the OATH Taxi
& Limousine Tribunal Appeal Form. The Appeal
Form is available at Tribunal locations and
on the OATH website in the Taxi & Limousine
Tribunal section.

32-02 Queens Boulevard, 3rd Floor
01
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APPEAL FORM
® Use this form only if you want to appeal the decision from your hearing.

For more information about appeals visit the
OATH web site at www.nyc.gov/oath




