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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Industry Motice £00-02
January 2000

IMPORTANT REMINDER TO COMMUTER VAN INDUSTRY CONCERNING
CONDITIONS OF OPERATION

Pursuant to the rules and regulations of the New York City Taxi and Limousine
Commission’s (TLC) Title 35 Section 9-10, it is essential that commuter van drivers
operate within their authority. In particular, Commuter Van Owners and Operators are

reminded that:

* Pa=z=zengers may be accepted =olely on the basi=s of pre-arrangement by
telephone or other means. Acceptance of street hails by and solicitations
of passengers are not permitted. The penalty for viclating this rule iz a fine
of $50.00 per violation [Rule 9-10(d); 9-11(d)].

e« A commuter van may accept passengers within the geographic area of itz
operation as approved by the TLC and the Department of Transportation. In
addition, passengers may not be picked up or dropped off at a bus stop or
along a bus route. The penalty for a driver found in violation of this rule is
zubject to a fine of $75.00 for each of the first two violations in a six-month
period, and driver’s license revocation for the third conviction within s
manths [Rule 9-11 (e]]. The penalty for a commuter van owner found in
violation of this rule 1= $75.00 per violation [Rule 9-11{e)].

e« Be reminded that excessive "horn honking” except in an emergency situation, is
prohibited by Section 4-12(1) of the New York City Traffic Regulations.

TLC Inspectors and NYPD Officers will strictly enforce violations of the foregoing

rules.
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